Bay of Plenty Regional Council

As a regional council we are responsible for land, air and water, as well as public transport and economic development. The territorial authorities in our region (Kawerau District Council, Ōpōtiki District Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, Tauranga City Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council, Whakatāne District Council, and part of Taupō District Council) are responsible for roading, recycling, animal control, parking, libraries and a number of other pieces of public infrastructure.

We want to make sure our region grows and develops in a way that keeps its values safe for future generations.

A major focus of our work involves looking after the environment. We manage the effects of people's use of freshwater, land, air and coastal water. However, we also have a broader responsibility with others for the economic, social and cultural well-being of the regional community.